List of FIFA World Cup Champions (FIFA World Cup Winners)

In this article I’ve listed the FIFA World Cup Winners; Before we directly go through the FIFA World Cup Champions list let’s get to know the bit of the history about the FIFA World Cup (Football).

For the note: On 2010 December 2, FIFA president Sepp Blatter announced the winning bids at FIFA’s headquarters in Zurich. Russia was chosen to host the 2018 World Cup, and Qatar was chosen to host the 2022 World Cup.

What exactly is FIFA?

Football is one of the most popular and widely played sports game in the world; The FIFA World Cup is known as Football World Cup and FIFA is the global governing body for FIFA; This is the International Association for Football competition to organize for senior men.

Teams will be qualified for FIFA World Cup before they play it internationally and then World Cup tournament that will determine the sport’s world champion. It is likely the most popular sporting event in the world, drawing billions of television viewers every tournament.

Interesting Articles to Follow,

  1. Live Football Streaming: Watch Live Football Online for Free
  2. 25 Famous Quotes by Football Players
  3. How to Watch FIFA World Cup 2018 Live Stream Online for Free
  4. FIFA World Cup 2018 – Match Schedule In Nepali Time

FIFA World Cup History

Very first FIFA World Cup competition for the cup was organized in 1930 by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) and was won by Uruguay and for the next tournament hosting country will be decided and they will manage everything for every four years for FIFA Tournament.

It’s similar to Olympic football, there is no limitation for World Cup teams to put players of a certain age or amateur status. So the tournament will serve the contest between the world’s best players. Referees are selected from lists that are submitted by all the national associations.

During World War II it was pause for a while due to the situations of conflict between countries;

FIFA World Cup Champions (FIFA World Cup Winners)

Year Winners Runners-up Location Attendance
1930 Uruguay  Argentina Montevideo, Uruguay 80,000
1934 Italy  Czechoslovakia Rome, Italy 50,000
1938 Italy  Hungary Paris, France 45,000
1950 Uruguay  Brazil Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 199,854
1954 West Germany  Hungary Bern, Switzerland 60,000
1958 Brazil  Sweden Solna, Sweden 51,800
1962 Brazil  Czechoslovakia Santiago, Chile 69,000
1966 England  West Germany London, England 93,000
1970 Brazil  Italy Mexico City, Mexico 107,412
1974 West Germany  Netherlands Munich, West Germany 75,200
1978 Argentina  Netherlands Buenos Aires, Argentina 71,483
1982 Italy  West Germany Madrid, Spain 90,000
1986 Argentina  West Germany Mexico City, Mexico 114,600
1990 West Germany  Argentina Rome, Italy 73,603
1994 Brazil  Italy Pasadena, California, United States 94,194
1998 France  Brazil Saint-Denis, France 80,000
2002 Brazil  Germany Yokohama, Japan 69,029
2006 Italy  France Berlin, Germany 69,000
2010 Spain  Netherlands Johannesburg, South Africa 84,490
2014 Germany  Argentina Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 74,738
2018 Moscow, Russia
2022 Lusail, Qatar


FIFA World Cup Champions (FIFA World Cup Winners) by Nation

National team Wins Runners-up Total finals Years won
 Brazil 5 2 7 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
 Germany 4 4 8 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014
 Italy 4 2 6 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006
 Argentina 2 3 5 1978, 1986
 Uruguay 2 0 2 1930, 1950
 France 1 1 2 1998
 England 1 0 1 1966
 Spain 1 0 1 2010

J. Satya

Tech enthusiast who loves to write mostly about current affairs, events, and various other topics like Business Growth, Digital Marketing, How-to stuff, and reviews.

Related Articles

Back to top button